Home > February 2010 Haiti Trip > Music Heals and Connects

Music Heals and Connects

The Village of Hope school provides free education for about 620 students living in the Ganthier commune district, about 20 miles northeast of downtown Port-au-Prince. The staff are all Haitians who live in the surrounding area. People actually do walk uphill to school here, and there is no electricity.

Here is my new friend Tica, who is passionate about his education, his faith, and music.

It was neat spending time with him. Someone back home asked me several weeks ago if I was going to bring my guitar with me to Haiti, and I said no. Low priority when it came to packing and my baggage allotment. But music is a healer, and a connector.

I don’t speak Creole, and Tica’s English is about like my Spanish (I can order a beer). But music bonds us.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

